Bloomington, Bedford collect 11 awards in SPJ state contest

Bloomington, Bedford collect 11 awards in SPJ state contest

Schurz Communication newspapers in Bloomington and Bedford won 11 awards in the Indiana Society of Professional Journalist annual contest.

   The Bloomington Herald-Times won nine awards, including two firsts and the Bedford Times-Mail won two awards, including one first.

   The Herald-Times Jon Blau was the top award winner with two firsts and a second.

   The award winners were:


   Rich Janzaruk, Times-Mail, Sports Photography (Sectional track finals).

   Jon Blau, Herald-Times, Coverage of Government or Politics, (Big Brother Is Reading Your Emails).

   Jon Blau and Victoria Isom, Herald-Times, Criminal Justice Reporting (Bloomington Is Haven For Homeless, But At What Cost).


   Dann Denny, Herald-Times, Feature Writing (Miracle Man).

   Jon Blau, Herald-Times, Investigative Reporting (Nigerian Online Fraud Schemes).

   Bob Bridge, Times-Mail, Sports Column Writing.

   Mike Miller, Herald-Times, Sports Reporting


   Abby Tonsing, Herald-Times, Spot News Reporting (Bloomington Police Shoot, Wound Man)

   Peter Jacobi, Herald-Times, Arts and Entertainment Reporting

   Laura Lane, Herald-Times, Business or Consumer Affairs Reporting.

   Laura Lane, Herald-Times, Criminal Justice Reporting (Convicted Killer Getting Out of Prison).