Tribune captures top individual award

SCI properties win 29 Indiana AP awards

Schurz Communication Inc. Indiana properties won 29 awards in the Indiana Associated Press Media Editors contest, including the prestigious Kent Cooper trophy, the top individual award in the competition.

South Bend Tribune staff writer Virginia Black and former reporter Mary Kate Malone were honored with the Cooper award for their series “For the Love of Children,” which focused on the 2011 beating death of 10-year-old Tramelle Sturgis, the deaths of other Indiana children and the policies of the Department of Child Services.

Judges called the series “incredible journalism in so many different forms” and said, “Lives were changed because of these stories.”

That series as well as “The Skinny Dream” series by Kim Kilbride were among 16 Tribune works awarded prizes including eight firsts, six seconds and two thirds.

The Bloomington Herald-Times won nine awards including two firsts, three seconds and four thirds.

The Bedford Times-Mail won one first and one second.

The Tribune’s “For the Love of Children” series won first places for Nondeadline News Reporting and First Amendment/Community Affairs.

Kilbride’s series about a woman’s efforts to lose weight and her journey through bariatric surgery won first places for Feature Series and Use of Multimedia.

Other first place winners from the Tribune were;
– Greg Swiercz, Video/Slide Show, for his online work for the “Skinny Dream” series.

Regarding the series, judges said it “was a compelling piece of work and a wonderful story of one person’s struggle” and, that “nothing else even came close” to the quality of the multimedia portion of the series”;:

–Lou Mumford, Feature Writing, for “A magical role he loved,” about the death of a Niles man known for his longtime role as Santa.

–Eric Hansen, Nondeadline Sports Reporting, for “A promise kept fuels Lewis-Moore’s climb back.”

–Santiago Flores, Feature Photo. of local Sikhs after worship.

Six Tribune staffers won second place awards:Joseph Dits, Nondeadline News Reporting; Virginia Black, Feature Series; Ed Semmler, Column Writing; John Stump, Use of Graphics; Paul Ditlinger and the copy desk, Headline Writing; Robert Franklin, Sports Photo.

Third place awards went to: Franklin, Feature Photo, and Margaret Fosmoe, Feature Writing.

The Bloomington Herald-Times firsts went to Laura Lane for Nondeadline News Reporting for a story on convicted killer Robert Lee getting out of prison and coming back to town and to Stewart Moon and Penny Reid for Page One Make-Up.

The Herald-Times second place winners were: Abby Tonsing, Deadline News Reporting; Dustin Dopirak, Nondeadline Sports Reporting; and David Snodgress, Sports Photo.

The Herald-Tiues third place winners were: Dopirak, Deadline Sports Reporting; Jeremy Price, Column Writing Sports; and Chris Howell, Sports Photo and Photo Package.

Rich Janzaruk won the Bedford Times-Mail first place in the Sports Photo category and Bob Bridge won the second place for Column Writing Sports.