WSBT – 960AM/96.1FM

300x300_wsbt_newsradio_960DMA 178

1301 E. Douglas Road     Mishawaka, IN 46545
Phone 574-247-4343     Fax 574-239-4231
www.wsbtradio.com

The Station

Founded: WSBT 960 AM began broadcasting in April, 1922 as WGAZ, which stood for World’s Greatest Automotive Zone. At that time, South Bend was home to the Studebaker Corporation. Broadcasting from the third floor of the South Bend Tribune building, the call letters were changed to WSBT in 1925.

Distinction: On July 3, 1922, the very first commercially sponsored radio program in the nation was heard on WGAZ. The history making event was an evening of music, presented by a South Bend furniture store.

The first play-by-play account of a Notre Dame football game was heard on WGAZ on November 4, 1922. Final score: Notre Dame 27, Indiana University 0..

jt in the morning

JT In The Morning

Broadcast Area: While WSBT’s signal reaches as far as Indianapolis, the primary listening area is St. Joseph County, Indiana and 10 surrounding counties, including two in Michigan.

Awards: In 1989, WSBT received the prestigious Golden Mike Award from the Broadcast Pioneers. WSBT has won numerous Associated Press awards from the Indiana AP in recent years, including Most Outstanding News Operation. The Indiana Broadcasters Association’s Spectrum award for Best Morning Show went to WSBT in 2003 and 2004.

The Community

The Community: South Bend is the home of Notre Dame University and its rich athletic tradition. It was also once the home of Studebaker. While the plant is closed its history is preserved at the Studebaker National Museum. Major industries include Allied Signal and AM General.

Median Age of Adults: 44 years old

Homeowners: 78% of adults own their home

Higher Education: 54% of adults have some college education

Household Makeup: 40% have children under 18 at home; 39% live in homes with 2 or more adults employed outside of the home

Household Income: 43% have household incomes of $50,000 or more

Source: 2000 Market Study

Key Executives:

President/General Manager of WSBT Radio and Television - Sally Brown, sally@wsbt.comsally@wsbt.com

Vice President/General Sales Manager of WSBT Radio Group - Jim Roberts, roberts@sunny1015.com

Operations Manager - Bill Gamble, bgamble@wsbt.com

Business Manager - Debbie Klarke, klarke@wsbt.com

Director of News & Talk Programming-WSBT Newsradio 960 - Bob Montgomery, bmontgomery@wsbt.com

Local Sales Manager for WSBT Newsradio 960 & Notre Dame Sports - Jerod Bast, jbast@wsbt.com