KY3

300x300_ky3_springfield999 West Sunshine     P.O. Box 3500     Springfield, MO 65807
Phone: 417-268-3000     Fax: 417-868-3895
www.KY3.com

Founded: KYTV signed on the air on October 1, 1953 at 4:47 P.M., concluding the broadcast day at 10:30 P.M. and has been an industry leader from the outset. Schurz Communications, Inc. purchased KYTV in 1987.

Distinction: KYTV brought The Ozark Jubilee starring Red Foley to the air in 1953. This was a live country and western program and aired on ABC for 6 years and was later offered in syndication. The name was changed to Jubilee USA in 1955 and in 1961 was changed to Five Star Jubilee. The Five Star Jubilee was the first color program broadcast to originate outside New York or Hollywood and was aired to the entire nation from Springfield, MO by KYTV. The Five Star Jubilee remained on the air until 1961.

KYTV has been known for innovations from the beginning. Remote gear was purchased in 1954, with the first remote broadcast being from the Ozark Empire Fair. Other remote broadcasts featured bowling teams, Springfield Christmas parades and many sporting events. Beginning in 1986, KYTV News made “Celebrate the Ozarks” trips to bring the 6 P.M. and 10 P.M. newscasts to our viewers from points throughout our broadcast area.

KYTV purchased one of the nation’s first mobile video tape units in March 1959, allowing us to travel throughout our viewing area to bring taped programming to the Ozarks from our own backyard. We produced Harold Bell Wright’s well known and beloved “Shepherd of The Hills” on location at the Shepherd of The Hills Farm in Branson, MO and were awarded the TV-Radio Mirror award for most original program in the Midwest for the production.

An SNG (satellite news gathering) truck was purchased in 1986 and in 1989 our production truck, Studio 3, was added. Studio 3 is a literal television studio on wheels and is used for remote broadcasts, sporting events and remote production. The truck is frequently hired by major networks, including ESPN, Fox Sports, Sports Channel and Prime Sports.

The KYTV transmitting tower erected at Fordland, MO in 1961 was originally 1906 feet tall, missing being the tallest structure on earth by 61 feet. Later construction on the tower increased its height to 2000 feet. Three St. Louis Gateway Arches stacked on top of each other would still be 110 feet shorter. We have just recently completed the construction of our new transmitting tower at Fordland for Digital Television. This tower is also 2000 feet tall.

The original KY3 facilities built in 1953 were added to six times before being razed in September 1997. At that time, KYTV moved into its current building located immediately behind the site of the original building. The new building is 34,000 square feet, contains 45 miles of video, audio, phone and computer wire and was built at a cost of $7.5 million.

KYTV currently produces 22 hours of news a week. News specials are also produced periodically along with special programming of community interest being produced by the news department. Viewers recognize the strength of KY3 News in all news programs, making us #1 with all newscasts according to Nielsen, the national ratings service.

Coverage Area: KY3 is an NBC affiliate serving 32 counties in southwest Missouri and northern Arkansas.

Population: Springfield has a population of 156,192 and the population within a 40-mile radius of Springfield is 564,429.

Awards: KY3 news has been honored for an unprecedented four consecutive years with the Regional Edward R. Murrow Overall Excellence Award for outstanding news coverage. This spring, KYTV set an awards record locally, receiving 11 Addys from the Springfield Advertising Association.

Market: Located in the heart of the Ozarks, Springfield is a recreational center. Bass Pro Shops, currently the largest tourism attraction in the region, is located in Springfield. Wonders of Wildlife (American National Fish and Wildlife Museum) set to open here this fall is expected to be the biggest tourist attraction in the State of Missouri.

Key Executives:  Brian McDonough is President and General Manager; Mary Chalendar is Director of Sales; Scott Brady is News Director; Kirk Lemons, Chief Engineer; Angela Moyle, Business Manager.

Online Publications: www.KY3.com

KYTV (KY3)

Springfield, Missouri
417-268-3000

KYTV Departmental Email

Sales Department     sales@ky3.com
News Department     ky3news@ky3.com
Generic KY3     ky3@ky3.com
Reception Desk     operator@ky3.com

Administration

Brian McDonough, General Manager     bmcdonough@ky3.com
Janet Furneaux, Executive Assistant     jfurneaux@ky3.com

Business Office

Angela Moyle, Business Manager     amoyle@ky3.com
Cindy Fields, Accounts Receivable Coordinator     cfields@ky3.com
Beth Keeling, Human Resources     bkeeling@ky3.com

Engineering

Kirk Lemons, Chief Engineer     klemons@ky3.com
Chris Myers, Network Administrator     cmyers@ky3.com

News

Scott Brady, News Director    sbrady@ky3.com
Curtis Hancock, Executive Producer    hancock@ky3.com
Jerrod McCully, Chief Photographer    jmccully@ky3.com
Tom Schultheis, Assistant Chief Photographer    tschulteis@ky3.com
Paula Dowler, Director News Operations    pdowler@ky3.com
Jim Hankins, Satellite Truck Operator    jhankins@ky3.com
Gene Hartley, On-Line Producer    ghartley@ky3.com
Doug Owen, News Assignment Editor    dowen@ky3.com
Chris Replogle, Digital Content Manager    creplogle@ky3.com

Production

Lisa Maddux, Operations Manager    lmaddux@ky3.com
Robert Wallace, On-Air Director    rwallace@ky3.com

Promotions & Public Affairs

Dan McGrane, Manager     dmcgrane@ky3.com

Sales

Mary Chalender, General Sales Manager     mchalender@ky3.com
Jo Hall, Administrative Assistant     jhall@ky3.com
Joyce Dunn, Traffic Manager     jdunn@ky3.com
Amber Oppeau, Regional Marketing Specialist aoppeau@ky3.com
Heather Ireland, Regional Marketing Specialist     hireland@ky3.com
Beth Wanamaker – Regional Marketing Specialist bwanamaker@ky3.com
Karl Olson, Account Executive     kolson@ky3.com
John Stinson, Creative Services Manager jstinson@ky3.com
Natalie Murphy, National Sales Manager     nmurphy@ky3.com
Kim Hurshman,  Local Sales Manager KY3/KSPR     khurshman@ky3.com
Kent Oglesby, New Media Development Manager koglesby@ky3.com

Community Relations

Jamie Dopp, Community Relations Director     jdopp@ky3.com